City hall

The city hall or public administration office is the central office for all residents who, for example, need to apply for their passport or register their car. But also those who visit a museum or turn on a water faucet at home will be in contact with the city hall. Several public offices, administrative departments, but also institutions like the theater, waste management, cultural institutes and several limited liability companies (GmbH) like public services (Stadtwerke) and the clinic are all city-owned and operated.  The public administration office is divided into four departments, each of which is headed by a city councillor.